List of Universities in Osun State and Their Admission Requirements

Osun State is a state in southwestern Nigeria and one of the most vibrant regions in the country. The state is home to several reputable universities that offer numerous academic programs in various disciplines.

This guide will help define and explore the universities in Osun State. It will also highlight their unique features and provide admission criteria for students willing to continue their education in the region.

1. Osun State University (UNIOSUN)
Osun State University is a state university located in Osun State. The institution was established on December 12, 2006, and hosts several campuses across the state. Specifically, UNIOSUN campuses are situated in Osogbo, Ejigbo, Okuku, Ifetedo, Ikire, and Ipetu-Ijesha. UNIOSUN’s schools include Arts, Sciences, Social Sciences, Engineering, Management Sciences, and Health Sciences. The university also offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs. The university’s current vice-chancellor is oil mogul and businesswoman Folorunsho Alakija.

UNIOSUN Admission Basic Requirements
1. Students must have a minimum of five O’Level credits in subjects relevant to their chosen course including Mathematics and English Language.

2. Candidates must meet the O’Level requirements specified for each department in the school as well as obtain a minimum UTME score.
The candidate must sit for the Unified Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME) and select Osun State University as the first-choice institution, as well as score the university’s prescribed cutoff mark for their chosen course.

3. Students must obtain a UTME exam score required by the school for the accredited courses. Find any of the UNIOSUN cut-off marks on the school’s website. Direct entry candidates need to have two advanced level passes or equivalent in relevant subjects and obtain credit in at least five O’Level subjects.

2. Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife
Obafemi Awolowo University is a Federal University located in Osun State and it is a reputable university that draws students from different states in Nigeria and beyond. The university was founded in 1961 and Adebayo Simeon Bamire is the current vice-chancellor of the school. There are Arts, Sciences, Social Sciences, Engineering, Law, and Medicine and other numerous academic programs for students.

Admission Requirements of OAU
1. Prospective undergraduate Students must have obtained a minimum of five O’Level Credits, which include Mathematics and English Language, and other relevant subjects to their course of study.

2. Students must sit for the UTME examination and choose OAU as their First choice and also meet the UTME cut-off for their course of study.

3. Direct Entry Candidates must have passed at least two Advanced Level papers, or its equivalent which needs to contain required O’level credits.

4. In addition, OAU conducts post-UTME screening, and students must meet the program requirements.

Bowen University, Iwo
Bowen University is a private Christian university located in Iwo, Osun State. Students also offer various undergraduate and postgraduate programs which are the Arts, Sciences, Social Sciences, Management Sciences, and Health Sciences. It is also known for its academic excellence and holistic training.

Bowen University was established on July 17, 2001. Its vice-chancellor is Johnathan Oyebamiji Babalola.

Admissions Entry Requirements for Bowen University
1. Undergraduate prospective students must have at least five O’Level credits including Math and English Language in the relevant subject to their course.

2. UTME applicants must undergo a UTME examination and select Bowen University as their preferred institution.
Candidates must also reach the university’s UTME cut-off mark for the selected course.

3. Post-UTME screening: Bowen University conducts its own post-UTME screening exercise. Candidates must apply for the exercise and meet the required mark for the selected programs.

4. Direct Entry students must have at least two passes in two related subjects at the advanced level or equivalent. The student must also achieve at least a credit at the O’ level subjects.

Fountain University, Osogbo
This university was founded by the Nasrul-lahi-li Fathi Society of Nigeria (NAFSAT), on May 17, 2007. Fountain University is a private Islamic university located in Osogbo, Osun State.

The institution offers diverse academic programs, which fall under Sciences, Social Sciences, Management Sciences, Arts, and Education. The institution is fully committed to providing educational services in line with Islamic culture.

Fountain University Admission Requirements
1. For undergraduate admission, a prospective student must have at least five O’Level credits in subjects relevant to the choice of the course.

2. The results should include credits in Mathematics and English Language, as well as others from the chosen program.

3. For UTME candidates, participating in the examination and considering Fountain University as the first choice (preferred institution) is required. In addition, students must meet the JAMB UTME cut-off for registration and subsequent admission for the course of choice.

Usually, as a standard of admission, fountain University also conducts its post-UTME screening, with all eligible candidates sitting and meeting the requirements for choice programs.

4. Candidates for Direct Entry, must have a minimum of two Advanced Level passes or equivalent. Additionally, there should be necessary O’Level credits.

Adeleke University, Ede
Adeleke University is located in Ede, Osun State. It was founded in 2011 by Chief Adedeji Adeleke who is also the current president and pro-chancellor of the university.

The university offers undergraduate and postgraduate degree programs across the fields of Sciences, Social Sciences, Management Sciences, Arts, Engineering, and Health Sciences. Adeleke University is committed to academic excellence, research flagship, and community development.

Admission Requirements for Adeleke University
1. Prospective undergraduate students must have a minimum of five O'Level credits, including Mathematics and English Language, in subjects relevant to their chosen course.

2. UTME candidates must participate in the UTME examination and select Adeleke University as their preferred institution. They must also meet the university's UTME cut-off mark for their chosen course.

3. Adeleke University conducts its post-UTME screening exercise, and candidates must participate and meet the specified requirements for their chosen programs.

4. Direct Entry candidates must possess a minimum of two Advanced Level passes or equivalent in relevant subjects, along with the required O'Level credits.

In summary, various Universities across all disciplines exist in Osun State to cater to the diverse academic needs of students.

From the state and federal universities to the privately owned ones, there are vast opportunities for higher education certification in Osun State.

Interested students can examine the requirements for each university admission, including but not limited to O’level credit requirements, UTME cut-off marks, post-UTME screening, and Direct Entry qualifications.

Paying attention, planning and adequate preparations may be required to excel in gaining admission to your preferred university in Osun State.