Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger withdraw from ECOWAS over suspension.


The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) has announced the immediate evacuation of the military regimes in Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger.

In a joint statement that was broadcast on Niger national television on Sunday, January 28, the military administrations of the two nations declared their intention to leave the regional alliance.

The three Sahelian presidents said their decision to exit the Economic Community of West African States "without delay" was made "sovereignly."

Colonel Amadou Abdramane, the spokesman for the Niger junta, stated in the statement that "After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism,"

Abdramane continued, “The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fight against terrorism and insecurity.”

The three countries were initially suspended from ECOWAS, with Niger and Mali facing heavy sanctions.




  • ecowas-flag.jpg
    42.8 KB · Views: 814