Career Ranking in the Nigerian Army: Everything You Need to Know 2024

Share your experiences, gain valuable advice for all things career-related.
The Nigerian Army is a critical component of the country's armed forces, responsible for protecting Nigeria's territorial integrity on land. With a history dating back to 1863 when Lt. Glover of the British Navy established the small Glover's Hausas force, the Nigerian Army has evolved into a complex organization with an intricate ranking system.

This post provides a comprehensive overview of the Nigerian Army's ranks, from the junior ranks of privates and corporals to the senior ranks of generals who lead brigades and divisions. Whether you're considering a career in the armed forces or just curious about ranks, you’ll have a complete picture by the end.

History and Influences on Nigerian Army Ranks
ranking in the Nigerian army.jpg

The Nigerian Army. Photo source: Premium Times Nigeria.

When Lt. Glover formed Glover’s Hausas in the 1860s to protect British trade routes in West Africa, he laid the foundations for the Nigerian Army we know today. Over the ensuing decades, this small force developed into the West African Frontier Force and finally into the modern Nigerian Army.

The current system of ranks draws extensively from the British Army, including the iconic insignia and badges. One key difference is that Nigerian officer ranks from Major and above replace the British crown with Nigeria's eagle from the official coat of arms. This signifies the country's sovereignty and independence.

Commissioned Officer Ranks
Commissioned Army Officers are graduates of Nigerian military academies or the Officer training schools. The highest educational qualification for direct appointment is a University degree or HND. There are 11 Commissioned Officer ranks in the Nigerian Army:

1. Second Lieutenant: The most junior Commissioned Officer rank. Typically earned after completing military academy training. Recognized by a single star on the insignia.

2. Lieutenant: The 2nd lowest officer rank, marked by two stars. Promotion usually occurs after 3 years of service.

3. Captain: A mid-level officer holding command of smaller company-sized units of 80-150 soldiers. Insignia has three stars.

4. Major: The most senior mid-level officers acting as Executive Officers for Battalion commanders. The Major’s insignia features the Nigerian eagle.

5. Lieutenant Colonel: Higher field grade officers often commanding battalions of 300-1,000 troops. Insignia bears the eagle with one star beneath.

6. Colonel: The most senior field grade officer, typically commanding regiments with several battalions and support units. Eagles with two vertical stars is the Colonel’s mark.

7. Brigadier General: The first of the general ranks, leading brigades with multiple regiments. The triangular three-star pattern below the eagle distinguishes Brigadiers.

8. Major General: Senior officers holding division commander positions overseeing 10,000-25,000 personnel. Symbolized by the eagle and crossed sword and baton below.

9. Lieutenant General: 3-star Generals supervising corps made up of multiple divisions. The vertically aligned star and sword/baton make the Lt. General.

10. General: 4-star generals are the highest field commanders leading army groups and holding senior staff positions. Double stars plus a sword and baton create the insignia.

11. Field Marshal: The 5-star rank is ceremonial and may be awarded to senior Generals with exemplary military achievements. Symbolized by the eagle on a crossed baton/sword with a wreath.

Non-Commissioned Officer Ranks
In contrast to Commissioned Officers, Non-Commissioned Officers rise up from the enlisted ranks rather than through military academy training. They form the essential mid-level leadership spine of the Army, implementing officers' directions and motivating ground troops. The 9 ascending NCO ranks are:

1. Recruit: Lowest rank for new enlistees undergoing basic training.
2. Private: Junior enlisted soldiers with no leadership role. This forms the bulk of the Army's manpower.
3. Lance Corporal: Most junior NCO status, commanding small fire teams of 4-5 soldiers.
4. Corporal: Higher team leader role heading squads of 8-12 privates and lance corporals.
5. Sergeant: Senior NCO who serves as platoon 2nd-in-command to the Lieutenant, leading 30-50 soldiers.
6. Staff Sergeant: Coordinates company-level logistics/administration under Captains and Majors in headquarters units.
7. Warrant Officer: Specialist officer providing technical/tactical guidance to battalions and regiments. Ranks further subdivide into WO2 and WO1.
8. Master Warrant Officer: Senior Warrant Officers serving as expert consultants at the Division and Corps levels.
9. Army Warrant Officer: The highest achieving MWO can be appointed to this elite planning/advisory position at Army Command..

The ranking system is very important for the Nigerian Army to function efficiently. The ranks outline the leadership hierarchy and authority from the top generals to the junior soldiers. Although the ranking system started by following the British model, the Nigerian Army has developed its unique ranks to suit its local needs and culture.

These customized ranks allow the Nigerian Army to recognize excellent service and promote soldiers and officers accordingly.